The Pocket Wife by Susan Crawford

March 5, 2015

22571021

Dana Catrell wakes up after a night of drinking with her neighbor friend, only to find that in the night, the woman has been brutally murdered. She was the last known person to see Celia alive, and the police are highly suspicious that she can’t seem to remember clearly what happened the night before. With the pressure of her friend’s death and the suspicion that her husband is having an affair hanging over her, she begins to unravel, losing a little bit of her sanity around every corner. What is real, and what is imagined? Does she really remember her neighbor showing her a picture of her husband with another woman, or is her subconscious just trying to tell her that her husband is a cheater?

The lives of several broken people cross paths in this psychological thriller that will have you reading late into the night. Did Dana kill her friend? Or has she been framed? Can she figure out what happened before she is wrongfully arrested for the crime? Can she trace her own steps? Can she hold on to her sanity long enough to find the truth?

The Pocket Wife, by Susan Crawford, is a psychological thriller in the vein of The Silent Wife or Dark Rooms. The suspense will keep you guessing until the end, and wading through the main character’s unreliable narrative will leave you dying to find out the solution to the mystery. If you like psychological thrillers, The Pocket Wife is for you.


Dark Rooms by Lili Anolik

March 1, 2015

22535506

The setting is a New England prep school. Everything seems squeaky clean and controlled from the outside…But there are too many secrets. One night, the unimaginable occurs. Sixteen-year-old Nica Baker is killed, her body found in the nearby cemetery. What reason would anyone have to kill a rebellious teenage girl? Her sister, Grace is determined to find out what happened to her sister, determined to find closure so she can fight her own demons.

The sleepy little prep school is hiding some very toxic secrets, ranging from drugs to sex scandals, possibly even leading to murder and suicide. Can Grace sort out who is responsible for the death of her sister? Can she sift through the unimaginable sordid details and find a common vein? Is the killer still out there? Are her own parents somehow involved?

Dark Rooms, by Lili Anolik, will appeal to readers in the Gillian Flynn genres (Sharp Objects, Dark Places, Gone Girl). Definitely for adults only, definitely dark and heavy suspense, uprooting the most miserable aspects of human nature and revealing all that people try to hide from the world. This suspense novel is a top pick for 2015, so if you are in the mood for creepy, thrilling suspense, order Dark Rooms today. If you are sensitive and prefer more “cozy” mysteries, steer clear.


A Memory of Violets by Hazel Gaynor

February 1, 2015

21936857

A Memory of Violets, by Hazel Gaynor, is definitely making it onto my top 10 books for 2015. Anyone who knows me is aware that I have a penchant for long, descriptive stories full of mystery and family secrets. Kate Morton and Katherine Webb are my favorite authors of all time. Who didn’t love The Thorn Birds, by Colleen McCullough? I was surprised when Hazel Gaynor’s latest novel sucked me in, right away, and I had a feeling right from the beginning that I was in for a ride.

A Memory of Violets is about two girls born into poverty in the 1800s, into a life of selling flowers on street corners. Flora and Rosie barely have food to live on, but they have one another. One horrific day they are separated in a crowd and the never see one another again. Flora spends the rest of her days looking for her baby sister-and Rosie, too young to know how to get back home, must adapt to a new life.  Years later, Tilly Harper finds the journal of Flora when she starts a job at Mr. Shaw’s Training Homes for Watercress and Flower Girls-and she feels compelled to find out just what happened to Flora, and what happened to her lost baby sister Rosie.

If you read The Painted Girls, by Cathy Marie Buchanan, or , or you have a taste for novels that tear brutally at your heartstrings but come together in the end with perfect closure and new beginnings for much-loved characters, you won’t want to miss A Memory of Violets, by Hazel Gaynor. This reviewer couldn’t put it down.


Christmas at Tiffany’s by Karen Swan

January 25, 2015

21920687Cassie thought she had her life all figured out. She married her first love ten years ago, ruled the estate for him, kept his life in perfect order. On the night of her ten year wedding anniversary she suddenly learns that her life has been a lie. Her husband has a second family and she has been in the dark about it for years. Her best friends swoop in and make her an offer to help get her life back in order. She will spend 4 months with each friend, living like they do in New York, Paris, and London-experimenting with jobs, lifestyles, and whatever else comes along. At the end of the year she will decide what she wants to do with her life now that she’s starting over.

This novel is a great option for anyone who has ever been faced with the possibility that they will need to “start over” in life, or anyone who has been betrayed in love. The characters are rich and deep, the main character is very lovable, and there is something for everyone-fashion, cultural differences, lifestyle extremes, sexy men, new friendships and new dreams. If you are looking for your next “chick-lit” book, you will want to grab Christmas at Tiffany’s.


One Step Too Far by Tina Seskis

January 5, 2015

17404760

Emily Coleman woke up one day and decided to walk out of her life forever. New job, new place to live, new name, new persona…Will she survive in her new life, knowing no one, no friends or family to help her or guide her along the way? Why did Emily run away? What happened to Emily to make her leave everything behind? Was it marital strain or the pressure of being a parent? Was it her emotionally unstable twin sister? Her parents’ dysfunctional relationship? Will Emily be tempted into a life of excess and irresponsible decisions now that she’s off the radar?

This is a novel about a woman who took that urge to run away to the extreme and actually became someone else…But what is she running from and will it catch her before she runs herself into a situation from which she can’t escape? What is her secret? And do you really want to know?

If you like darker authors like Gillian Flynn (Gone Girl, Sharp Objects, Dark Places), you will want to read One Step Too Far, by Tina Seskis.


My Father’s Wives by Mike Greenberg

January 4, 2015

21936844

Jonathan Sweetwater has it all-beautiful wife, two great kids, blossoming career…One day, however, he comes home early to find what he thinks could be evidence that his wife is having an affair. All reality fragments for him and he finds himself on a quest to learn who he really is, and what kind of power his father may have had in defining the man he becomes. Jonathan sets off to find out just what his estranged father was actually like, and why he left a trail of five wives behind him before he passed away.

This is a novel of reflection, of nature versus nurture, of letting the past or others define who you are, and learning to see what is right in front of your eyes instead of trying to find something better around every corner. Readers will be surprised by this novel, which ends in a heartwarming place where you never would have expected it to end.


Dog Crazy, by Meg Donohue

January 1, 2015

22573873

Meg Donohue, author of How to Eat a Cupcake and All the Summer Girls, has once again touched the hearts of readers with her new novel, Dog Crazy.

Pet Bereavement Counselor Maggie Brennan sees people daily who have experienced the terrible loss of a pet, and she helps them to process their grief and find a new normal. But Maggie has a very intense secret of her own. Maggie hasn’t left her apartment for nearly 3 months because of debilitating agoraphobia. When an intense young girl comes into her office, she finds herself pulled into her life, and pulled out of hiding.

Can Maggie learn to live out in the world, or will she continue to hide and keep her secret from the world? Can she reach out to others when she can barely take care of herself? This is a novel about reaching out, and getting over our fears and out of our comfort zone for the greater good.

If you liked the other novels by Meg Donohue, Dog Crazy will not disappoint. Add this one to your amazon wish list, it comes out in March!


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 498 other followers

%d bloggers like this: